Department Seminar by Prof. Metin Muradoğlu

Computational modeling of multi-physics effects in multiphase flows

Prof. Metin Muradoğlu, Koç University

Date: Friday, April 22, 2016
Time: 10:40
Place: EA 409

Multiphase flows are ubiquitous in many natural processes and a wide range of engineering applications. Although efforts to compute multiphase flows are as old as the computational fluid dynamics (CFD), the progress was rather slow mainly due to the existence of interfaces that continuously evolve in time and often undergo large deformations that may even lead to topological changes such as breakup and coalescence. Multi-physics effects such as electric field, thermocapillary, surfactant, viscoelasticity and phase change make the problem even more challenging for computational simulations.

In this talk, I’ll describe a front-tracking method developed for direct numerical simulations of multiphase flows. Special emphasis will be placed on treatment of soluble surfactants, viscoelasticity and phase change (droplet evaporation). Sample results will be presented for various multiphase flows encountered or inspired by bio/microfluidic applications. Although the Reynolds number is usually low in microfluidics, the numerical method is general and applicable to a wide range of Reynolds numbers including turbulent bubbly flows. A sample of high Reynolds number flow simulation will also be presented.

Short bio:

Dr. Muradoglu is an associate professor in Mechanical Engineering at Koc University. He received BS degree from Istanbul Technical University (ITU) in Aeronautical Engineering in 1992, and MS and PhD degrees both from Cornell University in 1997 and 2000, respectively. He also worked as a postdoc at Cornell for about 18 months before joining Koc University faculty in 2001 as an assistant professor. He has had visiting positions at Harvard, Notre Dame and Princeton Universities. Dr. Muradoglu was promoted to the rank of associate professor in 2007. Dr. Muradoglu is the recipient of Turkish Academy of Sciences outstanding young scientist award (2009) and Encouragement Award by Scientific and Technical Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK) (2010).

Comments are closed.